Cumbernauld Community Development Trust was originally constituted on 1st April 2010 as “Cumbernauld House Trust” with the purpose of securing, restoring and sustaining Cumbernauld House. The House has a rich history being built in 1731 by the renowned architect William Adam. The House had been owned mainly by the Fleming family and latterly by the Burns family. In 1955 it was handed over to the state and became the headquarters of the Cumbernauld Development Corporation until it was disbanded in 1996 with Local Authority Reorganisation and the house was handed over to North Lanarkshire Council. The council subsequently sold the property and it changed hands a couple of times before becoming the office of a private firm who went into liquidation in 2007. The House fell into the hands of administrators and laid derelict for a lengthy period. While the Trust was working on a Development Plan a Property Developer purchased the House and began to convert the House into private residences, despite a well fought campaign to prevent this.
In February 2010 a Facebook page was started by local residents to highlight the plight of the House and has since grown to over 3000 followers from local people and further afield as far as Asia, North and South America and Europe.
Cumbernauld Community Development Trust is now working with local stakeholders including Cumbernauld Village Action for the Community (CVAC) and North Lanarkshire Council to convert the derelict, former Cumbernauld Primary School building, in Cumbernauld Village, into a Community and Heritage Hub. Public consultation has allowed the group to develop a feasible plan for developing this great community asset and work is underway to obtain development funding to push the project forward.